Common Station for MRT, LRT Lines Agreed

Stakeholders involved in the proposed common station for Metro Manila railway lines have finally agreed on where the station should be built.

Representatives from both SM Prime Holdings, Inc. and Ayala Land, Inc. signed Wednesday the memorandum of understanding with transportation officials on the proposed LRT-1, MRT-3 and MRT-7 Unified Station, which will be built between SM North EDSA and TriNoma in Quezon City. The memorandum also paved way to file for a joint motion to lift the outstanding temporary restraining order issued by the Supreme Court.

“Now, you are looking at a fruition in two-and-a-half-to-three years,” said Secretary Arthur Tugade of the Department of Transportation, expecting that the station will be fully operational within three years as construction is expected to commence before the end of the year.

The common project started in 2009 when the Light Rail Transit Authority signed a deal with SMPH to have the station built near SM North EDSA. However, due to legal issues, it was put on hold later that year.

Five years later, the Department of Transportation and Communications decided to build the common station near TriNoma to cut expenses. SMPH brought the case to the Supreme Court, which issued the TRO stopping the construction of the project.

But after being stalled for seven years, the stakeholders, represented by SM’s Tessie SyCoson and Hans Sy, Ayala’s Jaime Augusto Zobel de Ayala, San Miguel’s Ramon Ang and Metro Pacific’s Manny Pangilinan agreed for the benefit of the public.

Once launched, the station will be able to serve 40,000 commuters per hour or over a million every day. The station will feature an atrium to facilitate passengers when transfering from one line to another.

You might also like
error: Content is protected !!